Policyholder Services

What liability limits do most insureds carry?

The most common limit of liability, $1,000,000 per claim/$3,000,000 annual aggregate, is carried by more than 61% of OMIC’s insured ophthalmologists. Nearly 30% carry limits of $2,000,000/$4,000,000 or higher, and approximately 9% carry limits of $500,000/$1,500,000 or less.  However, limit preferences vary geographically and by subspecialty.  Physicians in states with patient compensation funds often carry the minimum limits of liability required for participation in the state fund, which vary by state but are generally less than $1,000,000/$3,000,000, and the fund insures losses above that limit.  Limits higher than $1,000,000/$3,000,000 are more common in certain areas of the country, such as the Carolinas, Nevada, and parts of New England. In Virginia, most hospitals require that physicians maintain limits equal to the state’s cap on damages to qualify for staff privileges.  Therefore, nearly all insured physicians in Virginia carry limits of at least $2,200,000/$6,600,000. Physicians in higher-risk specialties such as Anterior Segment, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Retina, and Refractive Surgery are more likely than those in other specialties to carry limits above $1,000,000 per claim, while physicians who specialize in Glaucoma and Neuro-ophthalmology are more likely than those in other specialties to carry limits lower than $1,000,000 per claim.

pie chart for insureds by limit

Please refer to OMIC's Copyright and Disclaimer regarding the contents on this website

Leave a comment

Six reasons OMIC is the best choice for ophthalmologists in America.

Expertise unmatched.

OMIC's sole mission is to serve ophthalmology. The premier source of ophthalmic claims data and loss prevention materials, OMIC's member hotline is the most used ophthalmic consultative service of its kind and OMIC.com is the most visited web site in America for ophthalmic risk management advice and patient consent documents.